I know, how in the world did I forget to mention an upcoming wedding packed weekend? Truth be told, it was one hell of a whirlwind. I have mixed feelings on whirlwind weekends. I love all the action and fun and booze. But I absolutely loathe how fast it all flies by. I need to learn how to stop and savor the awesomeness that occurs over the course of Friday past 4PM until Sunday at 10PM.

Anywho…here is the gnarly weekend update that consisted of 2 weddings in 1 weekend with a side of running and lots of booze.

Friday Evening

Bereta-Lastrilla Wedding

I got to see a lovely cousin get married on a yacht in the Newport Bay. Upon our arrival, we were handed champagne (WIN). Even better, my grandparents and aunt don’t drink…so they gave me theirs (WIN AND WIN). This was a tell-tale sign that it was going to be a good night. And a good night it was…

 

No better way to end a night of too much champagne than with breakfast at 1AM.

Saturday Morning

Yes, I’m still a little crazy about waking up to run. I am not naturally a morning person, so all of this getting up at 6AM to run on a Saturday after drinking too much at a wedding is really uncalled for. I actually think that deep down a really screwed up part of me is worried that I will lose my fitness or gain five pounds if I skip ones silly run. But at the end of the day, I think its that dedication that helps me to move forward. So I won’t complain about it.

I managed to knock on 6 miles and to be honest, it was the first run that felt REALLY GOOD post half marathon. How big of a wuss do I sound like? People run FULL marathons and recover twice as fast. But whatever. I’m thankful it happened. I only felt like I wanted to topple over and yack for the first 15 minutes, but I am pretty sure I was smiling for the rest of it. After my six miles I had a LOVE-A-LY beach walk/coffee date with a girlfriend.

As magical as that morning run and coffee date was…the day only got better!!!!

Saturday Evening

Wedding #2 – a Co-worker’s wedding at the London Hotel in West Hollywood

I’d like to first say that partying with family is priceless. But this wedding was without a doubt the most ridiculous (in a good way) wedding I’ve ever been to. Beautiful flowers, silver accents…understated elegance with a live band, delicious food and more importantly..an open bar.

so beautiful!

If the budget ever allows…I WILL have a 16 piece live band. It made all the difference in the world. I am 99% sure I consumed approximately 3 bottles of quality Chardonnay from the Sterling Winery up in Napa, California. I hit the dance floor like it was no one’s biznaz.

Sunday Morning

So once again, I do crazy things like go on a 2 hour hike in the Pacific Palisade (around Malibu) with a friend at 10AM. Oh wait- first I ate this…

BREAKFAST BURRITO.

I complained and whined the entire time. I will be surprised if my friend ever invites me back to hike again. No one would ever believe I could run 13.1 miles with the little amount of mental toughness I displayed. Believe it or not, even I get hungover once and awhile. I had a headache and felt like I was going to pass out once we started walking up the hill to start the hike. Oh well, I’m pretty sure I sweat all the booze out because I felt like a million bucks shortly after.

 

Was that enough of a whirlwind for you? It was a sh*t-ton of fun and I am so sad it came to an end so fast. It’s not often that a weekend starts on a high note, stays on a high note and gets even higher as time goes. I’m so lucky to have amazing family that loves to party as much as I do. I’m so lucky to be able to wake up and run. I’m so lucky that fall is here and the marine layer keeps the mornings nice and cool until 9AM on the weekends. And I’m so lucky that a co-worker considered me special enough to invite me to participate in his special day. I’m sure there is a lot more to that list but I won’t bore you.

What am I thankful for today????

Going to my spin class…then THIS …

Beers with this girl.

 

And for Oktoberfest ales.

 

Now now…when was the last wedding you went to?

Busy week ahead – any fun Halloween plans coming up??

