Ok- I finally feel like the holidays are here!!!! Christmas decor is up all the mall, it’s now consistently ‘cold-er’ here in Orange County.

I’m going to brag about the most fun concert I’ve been to! I know, I know – I JUST went to a Cold War Kids concert that I probably also said was ‘the most amazing concert ever’, but Thursday’s concert takes the cake FOR SURE. My lovely friend made an inebriated purchase on StubHub (aka overpriced tickets) to a ‘sold out’ My Morning Jacket concert at the Gibson Amphitheater. My friend also knew that I’ve been dying to see them forever. So when I was invited to go – my life started to feel more Christmas-y. Oh yah, my friend also failed to mention that we scored kickass seats.

How awesome is that??? For a short 5 foot nothing gal, it’s quite a treat to be able see everything and be so darn close! I cannot tell you enough how much I adore live music. My Morning Jacket certainly did not disappoint. His voice is pretty astounding and their sound just resonates with you for awhile after hearing them. When a concert has that kind of effect on you…I’d say it’s a damn good thing!

I took Friday off from work because:

  1. I have so many hours of paid time off racked up its ridiculous
  2. I went to an amazing concert Thursday

I really did intend on making Friday ‘super productive’. But that did not happen. I slept in, went to breakfast with friends…went back home…napped…and finally made my way to the boardwalk for a 4 mile run around 3PM. I almost forgot what the beach looks like at that time of day – I passed maybe two other runners. It was bizarre. I’m so used to seeing familiar faces and passing more runners than I can keep track of! The subtle change in scenery made it enjoyable. I think I’m starting to fall back in love with running. Maybe its because I’m not sick anymore and I can actually breathe, or maybe its because I’m finally getting back into my groove. Regardless, it’s nothing to complain about. I was encountering too many less than stellar runs and started to get a little discouraged. I’m really glad I’ve pushed past that!

My Friday of nothing concluded with some Christmas shopping and watching The Descendant with my baby sister, Justinne. Oh yah, and we ate a lot of ice cream.

Sorry for the blurry picture – I’m not too great with iphone pictures. I really liked the movie! I forgot how handsome George Clooney is and the storyline was interesting. The emotions were conveyed pretty perfectly and I went home feeling bitter sweet. It was definitely sad, but as always, there is a silver lining.

Saturday I went to my first of many Christmas parties! I tricked my friend into taking me to his company’s gnarly, Western themed Christmas party at the beautiful Laguna Cliffs Marriott in Dana Point. College football, an open bar, my best San Diego girlfriend and dancing – HOW COULD I SAY NO!?!?

But first things first – in order to consume extra food and booze that evening, I made myself knock out 6 miles. I haven’t done a run that long since the Long Beach half – so this was a big deal for me. I love the winter time because I don’t have to get my tail out of bed at the butt crack of dawn to beat the heat. So I get to run in the sun (yay!) AND cooler weather. It’s a win-win and it was SO FUN. I surprised myself – for some reason, I really didn’t think I’d be able to hang. So I was stoked when I heard my watch beep for the 6th time. This was a sure sign for the good night ahead of me 🙂

We started pregaming at 3PM. I should also mention that the party started at 6PM – whoops.

This morning, I woke up with a horrendous headache and immediately decided that the morning jog I wanted to do was OUT OF THE QUESTION. Instead, my fav SD gf ordered breakfast from room service and cried while we watched The Help. I also drank a lot of water.

I’m Boulder bound tomorrow afternoon!!! This is the first time that my company is sending me off to help lead a training/user group for our software (NERD ALERT). I’ve been to Boulder once before when I visited my college roommate and her family in Denver. I still haven’t finished packing…and I really need to get on that. But I never know what to pack!!! I am the worst. And on top of that…I don’t own any real winter clothes. Yikes! I’m hoping that I will be able to brave the cold and head out for a run. Anyone familiar with the area with suggestions on where to go?? 

I’m hoping I’ll be able to document and blog my fun from there…so we’ll see.

 

What makes you feel more Christmas-y?

Parties, concerts and seeing my family.

Do you travel a lot for work? 

 

